Tottenham beaten at Sheffield United after controversial call
Last Updated: 02/07/20 9:36pm
Sky Sports’ Jamie Redknapp has condemned the VAR decision to rule out an equalising goal for Tottenham at Sheffield United as “one of the worst decisions I have ever seen”.
Moments after the hosts broke the deadlock with a goal by Sander Berge, Tottenham celebrated what they felt was an equalising goal when Harry Kane slotted the ball past Dean Henderson.
But after a lengthy review, the ‘goal’ was ruled out after VAR detected the arm of Lucas Moura touching the ball when the Spurs forward was bundled over during the build-up to Kane’s strike.
“This is one of the worst decisions I have ever seen,” said an unimpressed Redknapp.
“I get the letter of the law but we have to show some common sense. When you get fouled, you have to put your arms down. It was accidental – he’s not meant it.
“It is a horrendous decision. He has got it completely wrong – and this is ruining football, things like this. Unbelievable.”
But while he agreed that the decision to disallow Kane’s equaliser was “harsh” and “unfair”, Sky Sports co-commentator Andy Hinchcliffe added: “The law was correctly applied. If you don’t like the law, you change the law. We can’t lambast the officials for making the right decision, which they did.”
Pressed for his view on the incident, Jose Mourinho told Sky Sports: “I’d like to but I can’t say what I think, I’ll be in trouble. I’ll be suspended. I don’t want to be. The one here is not the referee. The referee is hidden in some office. The referee is there.”
How the incident unfolded
So will the handball rule be changed?
Those expecting this handball rule to change next season will be disappointed… currently, there are no plans to alter the rulebook regarding handballs.
And why wasn’t a free-kick awarded? Because VAR cannot overrule a referee’s decision on free-kicks. If he played advantage, however, that’s a whole new layer of complication…
What the rulebook says…
From the Premier League website:
“Any goal scored or created with the use of the hand or arm will be disallowed this season even if it is accidental.
“The handball rule now has extra clarity because it does not consider intent by a player.”